Sooooo…

Back in Sligo about 8 years ago a fellow ‘singer-songwriter’ asked me why I never sang happy songs and why all my songs are all about loss, anger and death. He then told me that all his songs are about flowers and that I should cheer up. He couldn’t understand why for such a happy, smily guy my music was so depressing. I didn’t realise happiness was a constant thing and couldn’t understand why he decided to write songs when he was happy, did he not have better things to do? For me songs were a channel for bad emotions and like every young man I had my heart clean ripped out of my chest and used singing to express my feelings….still do. As an ironic statement I then decided that I’d name my band after a flower and I picked the most beautiful and long lasting of them all…

….fuckin hippy.

Stay tuned for more versions.

#APRmy

